I Am Writer, Hear Me Roar!

Confession time!

Querying is a very long process like I have mentioned before. I am actively sending out The Immortal Curse but I decided I should return back to my previous book The Termination.

I will always have a special place in my heart for The Termination. There’s just something about it that I love and I will never give up on that story. That being said, I haven’t touched The Termination for over a year while I focused my attention on finishing The Immortal Curse.

I’ve grown as a writer and stepping away from past projects is refreshing! When you return to it, you don’t have the same eyes you did before and you see things through a clearer lens. So as I returned to The Termination there was a glaring flaw that I couldn’t be more surprised (and yet not) about.

I have The Termination labeled as a Sci-Fi. As I read through it, a voice in my head kept saying “No…no…no…this isn’t Sci-Fi. This book is Fantasy.” But I’m like, ‘voice you’re wrong. I have it written as a Sci-Fi”  and my head reply’s, “Yes, it is written as a Sci-Fi, but the story isn’t a Sci-Fi”.

Wham! I could have thrown up. That voice in my head was right! I was forcing Sci-Fi upon my book because that’s how I originally wanted it to be. Now that the story was done, it clearly didn’t want to be a Sci-Fi, but I refused to listen to the story stubbornly.

In so doing, the beginning was clunky with its paragraphs of world building explanation (that you should never do). As soon as I took that simple two pages of world building out, the rest of the book already wrote itself as a fantasy! I didn’t need to add anything to hit that point home. It was a fantasy this whole time!

I remember now as I wrote the story, there was a little voice in the background telling me it was a fantasy but I was able to ignore it. But I couldn’t any longer. And I couldn’t be more pleased with the results of finally listening to my story. It reads so much smoother and effortlessly I don’t know why I didn’t do it soon!

But actually I do. As a writer we are the creator of this world. We have all the power, or at least that’s what we think. In actuality, the story writes itself. Writers are simply the vessel and when we try to take all the power and say “Nay! I am God and you will be what I tell you!” we destroy the heart of the story.

I challenge you to look through your own writing and listen to it. Is it really supposed to be something else that you have been fighting tooth and nail against? Yes, it will be hard to change what you have written to accommodate the story’s heart. But trust me, its well worth it in the end.

Cheers,

Missy

3 thoughts on “I Am Writer, Hear Me Roar!

Leave a Reply

