To Edit or Not To Edit, That is the Question

Hey!

Long time no blog. I was cast as Diana in Anne Of Green Gables the musical and we just rapped things up. My life anne-of-green-gablesconsisted of waking up, going to the theater for practice and warm-ups, getting my costume on, makeup and hair, performing, and going home to go to sleep and repeat. It was pretty intense there for a while but it was super fun! An experience I will always remember.

But I have to say, it’s nice to have a normal schedule again and have time to get together with friends and write!

The first thing I did when life slowed down was start querying! It has been about a year since I’ve read one of my favorite manuscripts and it caused me to have a bit of a nervous break down.

When I first finished that manuscript and edited it like a crazy person, I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. I read it now, and I still think it’s a fantastic story and has great elements, but I’m finding sentences that make me cringe.

On one hand, that’s a good thing. It means I’m growing as a writer. But on the other hand it makes me feel a bit discouraged. I’m left with the decision of, do I return to that manuscript and edit it through again? Or should I move on and continue with writing my current project?

I don’t know!

This particular manuscript is my baby. I love all my books, but that one in particular speaks to me in a special way. I think it stands out, I can think about the plot and my ideas for the rest of the series for endless amounts of time and never get bored.

But when is enough, enough?

I still don’t know the answer to that question. I’ve blocked off the entire weekend to write, so hopefully I’ll figure it out.

What do you guys think?

 

Cheers,

Missy

2 thoughts on “To Edit or Not To Edit, That is the Question

Leave a Reply

